GMO Coin, Inc. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator overview
ConfidenceLikelyUpdated2026-07-29Review by2027-01-29Sources12Machine-translatedOriginal (JA)
On this page
Wiki route
This entry sits under exchanges index. Read it with FSA crypto-asset exchange registration system — number system / Local Finance Bureau jurisdiction / registration requirements for adjacent context and Japan Financial Regulation — Legal Framework for Tokens, Crypto Assets, and Payments for the broader system boundary.
FSA registration number Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00006号 · JVCEA member #1006 · registration date 2017-09-29
1. Corporation / shareholders
- Trade name: GMOコイン株式会社 / GMO Coin, Inc.
- Date of establishment: October 2016
- Head-office location: 〒150-0043 Shibuya Fukuras (SHIBUYA FUKURAS), 1-2-3 Dogenzaka, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo
- Capital: JPY 3.758 billion (including capital reserves; confirmed on the official company page on 2026-07-29)
- Parent company: GMO Financial Holdings, Inc. (a 100% subsidiary of that company)
- GMO Financial Holdings is an intermediate holding company positioned under GMO Internet Group, Inc. (TSE Prime 9449). A financial sub-group that brings together the crypto-asset, FX, and foreign-exchange businesses.
- Listing status: unlisted (the parent GMO Internet Group is listed)
- Corporate number: 7011001113188
2. License / registration status
- Crypto-asset exchange business: Director-General of the Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00006号 (registration date 2017-09-29)
- Financial instruments business: Director-General of the Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Kinsho) 第3188号
- The Kinsho registration for conducting crypto-asset derivative transactions (crypto-asset FX / exchange leverage)
- JVCEA member: Type-1 member #1006 (both crypto-asset exchange business + crypto-asset derivative transaction qualifications)
- Member associations: Japan Virtual and Crypto assets Exchange Association (JVCEA), Financial Futures Association of Japan (FFAJ)
- FFAJ membership is because it also conducts the foreign-exchange FX business (financial futures business)
3. Handled currencies
- Crypto assets across services: the official “What you can do with GMO Coin” page displayed 24 assets when checked on 2026-07-29. Eligibility differs among the broker, exchange, and crypto-asset FX products, so each current product page must be checked.
- Broker service: the broker page listed 19 assets on the same date. GMO Coin began handling the Zipangcoin series (ZPG/ZPGAG/ZPGPT), linked to gold, silver, and platinum prices, on 2026-04-20.
- End of DAI support: trading on the broker and exchange ended on 2026-06-06, and transfers ended on 2026-06-27. Proceeds from the mandatory sale of residual balances were credited in JPY on 2026-07-02, so DAI is not a current supported asset.
- Exchange and staking: eligible assets for spot, leverage, and staking are maintained on product-specific pages. Historical fixed lists should not be treated as the current full lineup.
- The service also handles past IEO assets such as NOT A HOTEL COIN (NAC) and FCR Coin.
4. Scope of business
- Spot trading: broker service (two-way price) and exchange (order-book trading). Consult the current fee page for maker and taker fees
- Derivatives: leveraged exchange trading and crypto-asset FX. Consult current product rules for leverage and margin conditions
- Foreign-exchange FX: offered as a financial instruments business. Consult the current product page for currency pairs, leverage, and other conditions
- Crypto-asset lending: Basic and Premium products are described. Consult the current product page for terms, rates, and availability
- Staking: rewards are distributed based on eligible asset holdings; supported assets and distribution terms are updated on the official page.
- Crypto-asset accumulation (つみたて): accumulation service (from 500円~)
- IEO: previously conducted with FCR, NAC, and others
- Corporate services: corporate-account support, API trading (Public/Private), WebTrader (high-functionality trading tool)
- Deposit channels: bank transfer (GMO Aozora Net Bank recommended), instant deposit (Pay-easy, internet banking, etc.), instant withdrawal (started February 9, 2026)
- Crypto assets as collateral: from 2026-07-25, BTC, ETH, XRP, and SOL can be posted as collateral for exchange leverage and crypto-asset FX. At launch the collateral valuation rate was 50% for each asset, with price-risk, shortfall, and forced-sale rules.
5. Market share / trading volume
- Published monthly trading volume / number of accounts: not disclosed (no standalone IR disclosure)
- Figures are included as the “crypto-asset business” in GMO Internet Group’s consolidated financial results, but GMO Coin’s standalone trading volume is not regularly disclosed
- Public materials do not establish GMO Coin’s standalone domestic rank. What can be compared is its product breadth—spot, crypto-asset derivatives, foreign-exchange FX, lending, and staking within one company—not a market-share rank. For the regulatory boundary of staking and lending, see JP CEX staking and lending regulation.
- Customer base: mainly individual retail investors. Also accommodates trader / institutional demand through corporate accounts and API provision
6. History / major incidents
The table is limited to milestones confirmed in GMO Coin’s company, product, and news pages and in the FSA and JVCEA registers. “Most in Japan” and “first in Japan” are the company’s claims at the cited announcement dates, not current market rankings. ^[Sources: https://coin.z.com/jp/corp/about/company/; https://coin.z.com/jp/news/2026/04/15790/; https://coin.z.com/jp/news/2026/04/15863/; https://coin.z.com/jp/news/2026/07/16131/; https://coin.z.com/jp/news/2026/07/16232/; https://jvcea.or.jp/member/; https://www.fsa.go.jp/menkyo/menkyoj/kasoutuka.xlsx.]
| Date | Matter |
|---|---|
| 2016-10 | GMO Coin, Inc. established |
| 2017-09-29 | FSA crypto-asset exchange business registration (第00006号) |
| 2020-09 | First in Japan to introduce the “Post-Only (SOK)” order condition on the exchange |
| 2024-04 | Announced achievement of the “most in Japan” (per own research) for the number of exchange-leverage issues |
| 2026-01 | Started handling Sui (SUI) (sales outlet · exchange · accumulation) |
| 2026-02-09 | Started the instant-withdrawal service for Japanese yen |
| 2026-03 | First in Japan to handle Wilder World (WILD) |
| 2026-04-20 | Began handling the Zipangcoin series (ZPG), linked to gold, silver, and platinum |
| 2026-04-30–07-02 | Announced and completed the end of DAI trading and transfers and credited proceeds from the mandatory sale of residual balances |
| 2026-05 | Added 7 currency pairs to foreign-exchange FX (HUF/JPY, etc.) |
| 2026-07-25 | Launched the crypto-assets-as-collateral service for BTC, ETH, XRP, and SOL |
- In the company news, FSA materials, and JVCEA information checked on 2026-07-29, no major asset outflow, administrative disposition, or business-suspension order concerning GMO Coin was identified. This is a bounded review, not a guarantee of future absence.
7. Strategic trends
- Product-line changes: in 2026, GMO Coin added SUI, WILD, and the ZPG series and ended support for DAI. Because both additions and removals occur, historical asset counts should not be fixed as current totals.
- Foreign-exchange FX expansion: added seven pairs, including HUF/JPY and NOK/SEK, in May 2026.
- Instant deposit/withdrawal infrastructure: deposits via linkage with GMO Aozora Net Bank, with instant-withdrawal support from February 2026
- Using crypto assets as collateral: the service launched on 2026-07-25 lets customers transfer BTC, ETH, XRP, and SOL into collateral for leveraged trading. Eligible assets, valuation rates, and risk terms remain subject to the official rules.
- Group DLT / stablecoin activity: GMO Internet Group conducts a US stablecoin business through the separate entity GMO-Z.com Trust Company, Inc. This is distinct from GMO Coin’s Japanese exchange business.
8. Related persons
- Representative Director and President: Tomitaka Ishimura (listed on the official site on 2026-07-29)
- Director: Tatsuki Yamamoto
- Director / Audit and Supervisory Committee Member: Yoshiro Nakano, Fumimaro Kumagai, Daigo Hanaki
- The circumstances of founding / a standalone account of the founder are not disclosed (established in October 2016 as a strategic business of the GMO group)
Related
- japan-financial-regulation — Japan financial regulation as a whole
- japan-stablecoin-regulatory-landscape — related stablecoin regime
- jp-trust-type-sc-architecture — related SC regime (including the distinction from GMO Trust)
- gmo-financial-hd — parent company GMO Financial HD
- gmo-coin — GMO Coin parent-company profile in the JapanFG domain
- jp-cex-staking-lending-regulation — JP CEX staking / lending regulation
- jp-vasp-parent-company-map — JP VASP parent-company map
Sources
- GMO Coin company information (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- What you can do with GMO Coin (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- GMO Coin broker service (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- GMO Coin exchange (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- GMO Coin staking (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- End of DAI support (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- Completion of the mandatory sale of residual DAI (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- Crypto-assets-as-collateral trading rules (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- JVCEA member list (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- FSA crypto-asset exchange operator registration list Excel (snapshot 令和8年4月1日 = 2026-04-01)
Discovery
Keep reading
Read next
- Goldenway Japan Co., Ltd. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator (derivatives only) overviewThe name "Goldenway" derives from Goldenway Investment, the Hong Kong-based financial group at which founder Wu Yifan was previously employed. The same name was adopted through the 2019年 tra...
- JPYC Inc. — Japanese-yen stablecoin issuer (funds-transfer-operator type)The table is limited to establishment, token classification, registration, launch, and funding milestones confirmed in JPYC's official announcements. Issuance figures elsewhere in this entry...
- Payward Asia (Kraken Japan) — former Japanese crypto-asset exchange operatorThe table is limited to milestones confirmed by Kraken and Payward Asia's official registration, launch, closure, and asset-return notices and by the FSA registration list.
Links here
- CEX API / SDK ecosystem comparison — developer interfaces of domestic / overseas exchangesThe developer interfaces exposed by CEXs are broadly standardized across 3 tiers: (a) REST API (order placement · balance lookup · trade history · KYC settings, etc. — state-changing + snaps...
- Japan CEX parent FG adjacency matrixA Japanese 暗号資産交換業者 (FSA-registered VASP) is rarely a standalone business — it is almost always a node inside a parent financial group (FG) that already runs securities, banking, payments, p...
- Japan VASP business-model competitive matrix — comparison of 39 社's business segments / revenue structures / differentiation axesThe FSA crypto-asset exchange service provider registry lists 26 operators as of 2026-06-30. The matrix's 39 analytical rows also include crypto-asset derivatives, electronic-payment-instrum...
- JCBA — Japan Crypto-asset Business AssociationThe Japan Crypto-asset Business Association (JCBA), a general incorporated association is an industry body targeting a broad range of crypto-asset / Web3 businesses not limited to crypto-ass...
- Domestic CEX × deposit tokens / EPI integration strategy — DCJPY / Progmat / JPYC collaborationThe 2022-06 amended Payment Services Act brought into force the system of the three EPI (electronic payment instrument) types — trust type / bank type / funds-transfer-operator type — establ...