Bitbank, Inc. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator overview

ConfidenceLikelyUpdated2026-07-29Review by2027-01-29Sources6Machine-translatedOriginal (JA)

On this page

Wiki route

This entry sits under exchanges index. Read it with FSA crypto-asset exchange registration system — number system / Local Finance Bureau jurisdiction / registration requirements for adjacent context and Japan Financial Regulation — Legal Framework for Tokens, Crypto Assets, and Payments for the broader system boundary.

FSA registration number Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00004号 · JVCEA member #1004 · registration date 2017-09-29

1. Corporate entity / shareholders

  • Trade name: bitbank Inc. (English: Bitbank, Inc.)
  • Corporate number: 1010801024625 (confirmed in the National Tax Agency corporate-number DB)
  • Corporate-number assignment date: 平成27年10月5日 (2015-10-05)
  • Established: 2014
  • Head-office location: Tokyo Midtown Yaesu, Yaesu Central Tower 10F, 2-2-1 Yaesu, Chuo-ku, Tokyo (relocated from Nishi-Gotanda, Shinagawa-ku as of 2026年2月6日)
  • Parent company / shareholder structure: Unlisted. On June 25, 2026, bitbank, SBI Holdings, SBICAH, and existing shareholders entered into agreements for SBICAH’s planned acquisition of full ownership. The share transfer is scheduled for around August and full ownership, after a share buyback, for around October 2026; the transaction had not closed as of 2026-07-29. ^[Sources: https://bitbank.cc/announcement/20260625_01; https://www.sbigroup.co.jp/news/2026/0625_16429.html.]
  • Corporate site: https://bitbank.cc/

2. License / registration status

  • Crypto-asset exchange business: Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00004号 (registration date 2017-09-29)
  • Financial instruments business: the current JVCEA listing shows only the crypto-asset exchange business. The official site offers credit trading using the spot order book, but the JVCEA listing does not show a crypto-asset derivatives category
  • Electronic payment instruments business / funds-transfer business: Not disclosed
  • JVCEA membership type: Type I, crypto-asset exchange business only (confirmed in the JVCEA member list; no derivatives-exchange certification)

3. Handled currencies

  • Number of handled tokens: the official site maintains a current supported-assets page, which takes precedence over a fixed count in this entry
  • Major tokens (publicly known): BTC, ETH, XRP, LTC, BCC (BCH), MONA, XLM, QTUM, BAT, IOST, XEM and many others
  • Characteristics: bitbank displays an “No. 1 domestic altcoin trading volume” claim based on its own analysis of JVCEA data for November 2024 through October 2025. This is an attributed advertising claim for a defined period, not a permanent ranking.

4. Scope of business

  • Spot trading: Spot buy/sell (exchange / brokerage)
  • Credit trading: offered on the spot-exchange order book
  • Crypto-asset lending: the “Lend and Increase” service is offered
  • Business clients: the official site presents dedicated support, custody, and subaccounts
  • Fiat-deposit channel: bank transfer

5. Market share / trading volume

  • Trading volume: bitbank displays an attributed No. 1 domestic altcoin trading-volume claim limited to its own analysis for November 2024 through October 2025. This entry does not restate the comparison value without the calculation period and JVCEA-data context.
  • Number of accounts: Not disclosed
  • Customer base: Centered on retail (individual investors). Corporate services are also offered.
  • Competitive positioning: no permanent ranking or relative volume against peers is asserted. For an industry comparison of spot trading volume, see JVCEA Domestic Spot Trading Volume Statistical Analysis (2017-2026).

6. History / major events

This table is limited to verifiable corporate and regulatory milestones. FTX Japan was acquired by bitFlyer Holdings on July 26, 2024 and renamed Custodiem that August; the former claim that bitbank absorbed it has been removed. ^[Sources: https://bitbank.cc/; https://jvcea.or.jp/member/; https://bitflyer.com/pub/20240726-Completion-of-FTX-Japan-K.K.-Share-Acquisition-en.pdf.]

Year-Month Item
2014 Established
2015-10-05 Corporate number assigned (confirmed in the National Tax Agency DB)
2017-09-29 FSA crypto-asset exchange business registration (Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00004号)
2026-02-06 Relocated head office from Nishi-Gotanda, Shinagawa-ku to Yaesu, Chuo-ku (Tokyo Midtown Yaesu, Central Tower 10F)

7. Strategic developments

  • Product expansion: the official site presents spot exchange and brokerage, credit trading, crypto-asset lending, and services for business clients.
  • Head-office relocation (February 2026): relocated to Tokyo Midtown Yaesu.
  • Planned entry into the SBI Group (June 2026): agreements were signed for full ownership by SBICAH. The official timetable targets the share transfer for around August and full ownership after a share buyback for around October 2026; as of 2026-07-29 the transaction had not closed.
  • Within the bitbank, SBI, JVCEA, and FSA materials designated for this review and checked on 2026-07-29, no IPO disclosure was identified. This is not an assertion that none exists.
  • Representative Director CEO: Noriyuki Hirosue. Recognized as public information.
  • Founder: Noriyuki Hirosue is publicly identified as the founding CEO. The capital structure at establishment is assessed only within available public information.
  • Details of other officers / major shareholders: not disclosed.

Sources

#fintech#jp-crypto-exchange#vasp#altcoin-focused

Discovery

Keep reading

Related

Read next

Links here