DMM Bitcoin Inc. — Japanese crypto-asset exchange operator (former VASP) overview
ConfidenceLikelyUpdated2026-07-29Review by2027-01-29Sources9Machine-translatedOriginal (JA)
On this page
Wiki route
This entry sits under exchanges index. Read it with FSA crypto-asset exchange registration system — number system / Local Finance Bureau jurisdiction / registration requirements for adjacent context and Japan Financial Regulation — Legal Framework for Tokens, Crypto Assets, and Payments for the broader system boundary.
former VASP / 2024-12 announced service suspension · 2025-03-08 fully terminated Former FSA registration number Director-General of the Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00010号 (registration deregistered) · former JVCEA Type 1 member (withdrawn) · crypto-asset exchange business registration date 2018年1月
1. Corporate / shareholders
- Name: DMM Bitcoin Inc. (株式会社 DMM Bitcoin)
- Established: 2016年11月7日 (established as Tokyo Bitcoin Exchange Inc.)
- Head-office location: Tokyo Nihonbashi Tower 10F, 2-7-1 Nihonbashi, Chuo-ku, Tokyo
- Capital: 1億円 (final period)
- Parent company: DMM FX Holdings Inc. (DMM.com Group)
- Listing: unlisted
- Representative Director: Shoki Matsuda (at the time of closure)
- Corporate number: 5010401128129
2. License / registration status
- Crypto-asset exchange business (FSA): former Director-General of the Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00010号 — deregistered (upon the 2025年 closure)
- Type 1 financial instruments business: former Director-General of the Kanto Local Finance Bureau (FIBO) 第3189号 — deregistered (obtained 2020年5月)
- JVCEA member: former Type 1 member — withdrawn (confirmed by non-listing in the JVCEA member list as of 2026-05-18)
- Track record of electronic-payment-instruments business / funds-transfer business registration: none disclosed
3. Handled currencies
The 18 spot-trading assets supported as of 2023年 (major assets):
BTC · ETH · XRP · LTC · BCH · XLM · MATIC · LINK · MKR · AVAX · CHZ · TRX · ZPG · ETC · BAT · ENJ · OMG · MONA
It also supported leveraged trading (contracts for difference), offering major assets such as BTC and ETH. The handled assets were a mid-sized lineup centered on bitcoin, with limited altcoins.
4. Scope of business
- Spot trading: sales counter (OTC)
- Leveraged trading (contracts for difference / offered as Type 1 financial instruments business)
- Fiat deposit channels: bank transfer / quick deposit
- Staking / lending: no official offering
- NFT: no track record of handling
- Corporate services: general account-opening support (details not disclosed)
5. Market share / trading volume
- Account numbers / monthly trading volume: not disclosed (disclosure materials not made public)
- Revenue: 54億500万円 (2024年3月 period)
- Net profit: △481億3,100万円 (2025年3月 period — outflow loss recognized)
- Revenue and profit/loss are historical values for the stated fiscal years; they do not establish market rank or customer composition. Do not assert a competitive rank without official values using the same period and definition.
6. History / major events
The table below is limited to milestones confirmed through DMM Bitcoin’s termination notices, SBI VC Trade’s transfer materials, FSA/JVCEA registration materials, and the National Police Agency’s joint advisory dated December 24, 2024. The outflow quantity, valuation, and attribution follow the wording of the National Police Agency materials.^[Sources: https://bitcoin.dmm.com/; https://www.sbivc.co.jp/dmm_vct; https://www.npa.go.jp/bureau/cyber/koho/caution/caution20241224.html; https://www.npa.go.jp/bureau/cyber/pdf/20241224_jp.pdf.]
| Date | Item |
|---|---|
| 2016-11 | Established as Tokyo Bitcoin Exchange Inc. |
| 2017-03 | Opened the virtual-currency exchange “Tokyo Bitcoin Exchange” |
| 2017-09 | Applied to the Kanto Local Finance Bureau for virtual-currency exchange operator registration |
| 2017-12 | Transferred to DMM FX Holdings Inc., name changed to “DMM Bitcoin Inc.” |
| 2018-01 | Began accepting account openings under the brand “DMM Bitcoin” |
| 2020-05 | Registered as a Type 1 financial instruments operator (Director-General of the Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第3189号) |
| 2024-05-31 | An unauthorized outflow of 4,502.9 BTC (valued at approximately ¥48.2 billion) occurred, and the first notice was published |
| 2024-06 | Announced a fundraising plan on the scale of 550億円 and stated it would buy back the equivalent of the outflowed BTC |
| 2024-12-24 | The National Police Agency, FBI, and other authorities identified the theft as conducted by North Korea-linked TraderTraitor and issued a joint advisory |
| 2024-12-02 | Announced full closure. Concluded a basic agreement with SBI VC Trade Co., Ltd. toward the transfer of customer accounts and custodied assets |
| 2025-03-08 | Full service termination. Completed the transfer of all customer accounts and custodied assets (yen / crypto assets) to SBI VC Trade |
Unauthorized outflow incident (2024-05-31) details:
The National Police Agency materials state that 4,502.9 BTC was lost, valued at approximately ¥48.2 billion at the time. The company announced a fundraising plan on the scale of ¥55 billion and a policy to buy back the equivalent BTC; it later terminated service and transferred customers to SBI VC Trade (see DMM Bitcoin outflow incident detailed analysis(2024-05)— 4,502.9 BTC attributed to Lazarus and Japan Domestic VASP Crypto Asset Breach History (2014-2026)).
Japan’s National Police Agency, the FSA, and the US FBI published, dated 2024-12-24, an identification of this case as an attack by “Trader Traitor (North Korea’s Lazarus Group)” and issued an advisory (recorded in the “Publication of ‘令和6年12月24日 Regarding cyber-attacks by the North Korea-backed cyber-attack group Trader Traitor (advisory)’” on the FSA page).
This case is one of the largest-scale unauthorized outflow incidents in the history of Japan’s crypto-asset industry.
7. Strategic developments
After the closure decision, the principal disclosed developments concerned transferring customer accounts and custodied assets and terminating service, rather than a growth strategy.
- 2024-12-02 basic agreement: established the framework for the transfer to SBI VC Trade
- 2024-12-25: both SBI VC Trade and DMM Bitcoin published notices regarding the transfer
- 2025-03-08 service termination. Complete withdrawal from crypto-asset exchange business as the DMM Group.
8. Related people
- Shoki Matsuda: Representative Director (at the time of closure) — no detailed background disclosed
- DMM FX Holdings Inc.: 100% parent company (at the time of closure)
- DMM.com Securities Co., Ltd. (DMM.com Securities) continues, as a separate legal entity within the group, to hold JVCEA Type 1 membership (member number 1043 / crypto-asset derivatives business), and is a distinct business entity from DMM Bitcoin Inc.
Related
- jp-exchange-sbi-vc-trade — SBI VC Trade (recipient of the customer-asset transfer)
- japan-financial-regulation — Japanese financial regulation as a whole
- japan-bittrade-listing-process — general theory of the listing process
- japan-stablecoin-regulatory-landscape — related stablecoin regime
- dmm-bitcoin-lazarus-hack-detailed-analysis — detailed analysis of the DMM Bitcoin Lazarus hack
- forensic-identity-anchor-chain — forensic identity anchor chain
- jp-vasp-incident-history — JP VASP incident history
Sources
- DMM Bitcoin official site (service-termination notice) (obtained 2026-05-18)
- SBI VC Trade DMM Bitcoin transfer special site (obtained 2026-05-18)
- JVCEA member list (obtained 2026-05-18 · confirmed DMM Bitcoin not listed)
- FSA crypto-asset / electronic-payment-instruments page (obtained 2026-05-18)
- FSA crypto-asset exchange operator registration list Excel (snapshot 令和8年4月1日 = 2026-04-01)
- Wikipedia “DMM Bitcoin” (obtained 2026-05-18 · used for cross-check of corporate information / financials / history)
- CoinPost “DMM Bitcoin’s unauthorized outflow, possible involvement of North Korean hacker group ‘Lazarus’” (2024-07-17 article title confirmed · obtained 2026-05-18)
- National Police Agency — advisory on TraderTraitor’s theft from DMM Bitcoin (2024-12-24)
- National Police Agency — joint advisory PDF (2024-12-24)
Discovery
Keep reading
Read next
- FINX JCrypto Inc. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operatorFINX JCrypto is a registered Japanese crypto asset exchange operator. The FSA list dated 2026-04-01 shows registration number Kanto Local Finance Bureau No.00012 and lists BTC, ETH, XRP, XLM...
- Gaia Co., Ltd. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator overviewThe table below is limited to corporate, registration, and service milestones confirmed through Gaia's official company profile and news, the FSA registry, and the JVCEA list. “Japan's first...
- Gate Japan K.K.(Gate Japan株式会社)— Japan crypto-asset-exchange operator overviewThe former c0ban exchange handled c0ban (RYO), a Japan-originated token. Gate Japan's April 24, 2026 notice stopped new account applications and set May 29 as the end date for the c0ban exch...
Links here
- DMM Bitcoin outflow incident detailed analysis(2024-05)— 4,502.9 BTC attributed to LazarusOn the evening of 2024-05-31, 4,502.9 BTC(equivalent to approx. 482 億円)was illicitly drained from DMM Bitcoin. At the time, it was the largest domestic outflow incident after the jp exchange...
- FSA Business Improvement Order (BIO) domestic VASP administrative-action history (2018-2026)A Business Improvement Order (BIO) is, among the administrative actions the Financial Services Agency issues to supervised operators, a mid-level action ordering the submission and execution...
- Japan CEX parent FG adjacency matrixA Japanese 暗号資産交換業者 (FSA-registered VASP) is rarely a standalone business — it is almost always a node inside a parent financial group (FG) that already runs securities, banking, payments, p...
- Japan VASP business-model competitive matrix — comparison of 39 社's business segments / revenue structures / differentiation axesThe FSA crypto-asset exchange service provider registry lists 26 operators as of 2026-06-30. The matrix's 39 analytical rows also include crypto-asset derivatives, electronic-payment-instrum...
- 株式会社DMM.com証券 (DMM.com Securities) — Japan financial-instruments business operator (crypto-asset derivatives) overviewThe company's mainstay business comprises the following 4 pillars: