---
title: "Japan prime brokerage and institutional financing matrix"
aliases:
  - "japan-prime-brokerage-and-institutional-financing-matrix"
  - "Japan prime brokerage matrix"
  - "Japan PB provider comparison matrix"
  - "日本 prime brokerage 比較マトリクス"
  - "Japan institutional securities financing matrix"
  - "PB provider Japan matrix"
  - "Japan hedge fund prime broker comparison"
  - "Tokyo prime brokerage landscape"
domain: securities
created: 2026-05-25
last_updated: 2026-07-30
last_tended: 2026-07-30
review_by: 2026-11-25
confidence: likely
tags: [securities, matrix, prime-brokerage, institutional-financing, stock-lending, repo, margin, derivatives, custody, capital-introduction]
status: active
sources:
  - "https://www.fsa.go.jp/menkyo/menkyoj/kinyushohin.xlsx"
  - "https://www.fsa.go.jp/en/regulated/licensed/fibo.pdf"
  - "https://www.fsa.go.jp/common/law/guide/kinyushohin_eng.pdf"
  - "https://www.jsda.or.jp/en/about/members-list/index.html"
  - "https://www.jsda.or.jp/en/activities/research-studies/html/BLT_Guidelines_en.pdf"
  - "https://www.jpx.co.jp/english/equities/trading/margin/outline/"
  - "https://www.jpx.co.jp/english/equities/futop/index.html"
  - "https://www.jpx.co.jp/jscc/en/cash/cash/assumption-obligation/dvp.html"
  - "https://www.jasdec.com/en/system/finance/outline/concept/"
  - "https://www.taisyaku.jp/english/about/restrictive/"
  - "https://www.nomuranow.com/portal/site/nnextranet/en/global-markets/prime-finance/"
  - "https://www.daiwa.jp/english/business/wholesale.html"
  - "https://www.smbcnikko.co.jp/english/"
  - "https://www.mizuho-sc.com/english/"
  - "https://www.sbisec.co.jp/ETGate/?_ControlID=WPLEThmR001Control&_PageID=DefaultPID&_DataStoreID=DSWPLEThmR001Control&_ActionID=DefaultAID&getFlg=on"
  - "https://www.goldmansachs.com/worldwide/japan/"
  - "https://www.morganstanley.com/about-us/global-offices/japan/index.html"
  - "https://www.jpmorgan.com/JP/en/about-us"
  - "https://www.citigroup.com/jp/en/about/citi-group/citigroup-global-markets-japan.html"
  - "https://www.bofa.com/en-jp/about-us/japan-overview/"
  - "https://www.jpmorgan.com/prime-services"
---

# Japan prime brokerage and institutional financing matrix

## TL;DR

Prime brokerage in Japan is **not a single license** — it is a wholesale-service stack assembled from a Type I 金商業者 license, stock-borrow / loan capability, margin and repo financing, OTC and listed-derivatives capability, custody / settlement infrastructure, capital-introduction services, and (in many cases) global cross-border integration with the provider's London / New York books. This matrix compares the ten material PB / institutional-financing providers operating in Tokyo today — **Nomura, Daiwa SG, SMBC Nikko, Mizuho Securities, SBI Securities, Goldman Sachs Japan, Morgan Stanley MUFG (MUMSS), JPMorgan Japan, Citi Japan, Bank of America Japan** — across client-mix tilt, product depth, collateral haircut policy, stock-borrow capability, settlement footprint, capital introduction, and geographic / cross-border integration.

## Wiki route

This page sits under [[securities/INDEX|securities index]] as the provider-comparison matrix companion to [[securities/japan-prime-brokerage-and-institutional-financing|Japan prime brokerage and institutional financing]] (the conceptual / functional overview). Read it with [[securities/japan-stock-lending-market-route|Japan stock lending market route]] for the stock-borrow rail, [[securities/japan-margin-trading-and-securities-finance|Japan margin trading and securities finance]] for the retail-margin distinction, [[securities/japan-market-infrastructure-map|Japan market infrastructure map]] for the JSCC / JASDEC settlement rail, [[securities/japan-best-execution-sor-pts|Japan best execution / SOR / PTS]] for the execution-venue layer, and [[securities/japan-pts-liquidity-data-guide|Japan PTS liquidity data guide]] for PTS-side liquidity flow. The legal-stack anchor is [[financial-licenses/securities-license-stack|securities license stack]], and segment-level classification is in [[securities/japan-fiea-operator-registry-segment-matrix|Japan FIEA operator registry segment matrix]].

## Why this matrix matters

A blanket reference to "prime broker in Tokyo" hides the structural differences that drive PB selection economics:

- which **client mix** the provider's PB book is built around (hedge funds vs family offices vs registered AMs vs sovereign / pension);
- which **products and balance-sheet capacity** the provider can extend (stock loan availability, repo capacity, OTC derivatives, FX prime);
- which **collateral haircut grid** and margin model the provider runs;
- whether the provider runs **cross-border integration** with London / NY (24-hour book; global stock-borrow inventory);
- which **settlement infrastructure** the provider clears through ([[securities/japan-securities-clearing-corp|JSCC]] direct vs sub-clearing, [[securities/japan-securities-depository-center|JASDEC]] direct member vs custodian-routed);
- whether the provider offers **capital introduction** (capintro) — the soft-dollar service that drives PB selection for newly launching hedge funds.

Without provider-level decomposition, a $50m macro hedge fund launching in Tokyo, a $5bn long-short equity fund, a family office, and a sovereign-wealth fund all look like "PB clients" — but their provider shortlists barely overlap.

## Provider 1 — [[securities-firms/nomura-hd|Nomura]] (Prime Finance — Nomura Securities)

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (Nomura Securities Co., Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible underlying broker; JIPF-covered customer-asset segregation. Bank-affiliated trust services through MUTB-equivalent custodian arrangements within Nomura group.
- **PB client mix.** **Heaviest domestic-hedge-fund coverage of any provider** — long-only AMs, domestic / regional pension funds, long-short equity hedge funds focused on Japan, multi-strat funds with Japan sleeves, family offices, and foreign hedge-fund Tokyo branches. The "default domestic prime" for many Japanese-strategy funds.
- **Stock loan capability.** Largest domestic stock-borrow inventory by depth (cross-shareholding-rooted relationships with [[financial-regulators/japan-securities-finance|Japan Securities Finance]] and trust-bank custodians); deepest single-name borrow for [[financial-regulators/japan-exchange-group|JPX]] Prime Market and Standard Market names; competitive on small-cap / Growth Market when borrow is locatable.
- **Repo capacity.** Top-tier JGB repo book through Nomura's primary-dealer status; cross-currency repo via global desks (Hong Kong / London / NY).
- **Margin lending.** Full institutional margin (negotiable margin / 制度信用 / 一般信用 distinction in [[securities/japan-margin-trading-and-securities-finance|margin trading and securities finance]]); risk-based portfolio margin available for sophisticated clients.
- **Derivatives.** Full TOPIX / Nikkei 225 listed futures / options coverage via JPX; OTC equity swaps, single-stock swaps, equity-linked structured products; full OTC interest-rate / FX / credit derivatives book.
- **FX prime.** FX prime brokerage with cross-currency margining and global FX desk integration.
- **Custody / settlement.** Direct [[securities/japan-securities-clearing-corp|JSCC]] and [[securities/japan-securities-depository-center|JASDEC]] member; in-house custody for client assets with segregation under FIEA cabinet-office-order rules.
- **Capital introduction.** Established capintro program through the Tokyo prime-finance team — Japan-fund / Japan-sleeve introductions to domestic AMs, regional banks, life insurers, and Asian sovereign wealth.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; Osaka office; integrated with Nomura International (London), Nomura Securities International (NY), Nomura Singapore, Nomura Hong Kong — 24-hour global prime finance book.
- **Distinguishing trait.** Deepest domestic-borrow and domestic-hedge-fund coverage of any PB provider. The structural advantage is **inventory** rather than balance-sheet pricing.

## Provider 2 — [[securities-firms/daiwa-sg|Daiwa Securities Group]] (Daiwa Securities)

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (Daiwa Securities Co. Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered.
- **PB client mix.** Domestic AMs, regional pension funds, mid-size hedge funds, and the long tail of domestic institutional clients that prefer a second domestic PB to Nomura. Family-office and high-net-worth coverage via Daiwa Securities adjacent platforms.
- **Stock loan capability.** Second-deepest domestic borrow inventory after Nomura; strong relationships with [[financial-regulators/japan-securities-finance|JSF]] and trust-bank custodians; competitive on large-cap and mid-cap borrow.
- **Repo capacity.** Primary-dealer JGB repo book; cross-currency repo via global subsidiaries.
- **Margin lending.** Full institutional margin; portfolio-margining selective.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives coverage; OTC equity swaps and structured products; OTC interest-rate / FX / credit derivatives.
- **FX prime.** FX prime brokerage; smaller global FX book than Nomura / GS / JPM.
- **Custody / settlement.** Direct JSCC and JASDEC member; in-house custody with segregation.
- **Capital introduction.** Daiwa Capintro program; smaller / more selective than Nomura's; tilted toward domestic / Asian capital allocators.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo / Osaka; integrated with Daiwa Capital Markets America, Daiwa Capital Markets Europe, Daiwa Capital Markets Hong Kong / Singapore.
- **Distinguishing trait.** Default second-domestic-PB choice; structurally important for diversification away from a single Nomura concentration.

## Provider 3 — [[securities-firms/smbc-nikko|SMBC Nikko Securities]]

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (SMBC Nikko Securities Inc.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered. Megabank-arm structure — owned 100% by [[megabanks/smfg|SMFG]] / Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation.
- **PB client mix.** Domestic institutional AMs, SMBC group cross-shareholding clients, megabank wholesale clients, listed-corporate-side IR / treasury counterparties, mid-size domestic hedge funds. Smaller direct foreign-hedge-fund coverage than the global IBs.
- **Stock loan capability.** Megabank-group borrow inventory — pulls from SMBC custody book and group cross-shareholding relationships; strong on large-cap and dividend-stable names; smaller small-cap / Growth Market depth than independent IBs.
- **Repo capacity.** JGB repo book through SMBC group; cross-currency repo via group desks.
- **Margin lending.** Full institutional margin; bank-affiliated balance-sheet allows competitive cash-margin pricing for group-strategic clients.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; OTC equity swaps; OTC interest-rate / FX through SMBC banking-book integration; structured products.
- **FX prime.** SMBC banking-book FX integration; FX prime via SMBC global FX.
- **Custody / settlement.** Direct JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody with segregation; group-trust-bank custody integration available for sophisticated clients.
- **Capital introduction.** Targeted capintro through SMBC group network — strongest for funds seeking SMBC, [[life-insurers/sumitomo-life|Sumitomo Life]], MS&AD, [[trust-banks/smtb|SMTB]], and SMBC private-banking client capital.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with SMBC Capital Markets (London / NY) and SMBC Nikko Capital Markets Europe.
- **Distinguishing trait.** Megabank-group balance-sheet integration — competitive financing pricing for clients aligned with SMBC group strategy.

## Provider 4 — [[securities-firms/mizuho-securities|Mizuho Securities]]

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (Mizuho Securities Co., Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered. Megabank-arm — owned by [[megabanks/mizuho-fg|Mizuho FG]].
- **PB client mix.** Domestic institutional AMs, Mizuho group cross-shareholding clients, [[asset-managers/asset-management-one|AM-One]] (Mizuho × Dai-ichi Life) adjacency, megabank wholesale clients, mid-size domestic hedge funds with Mizuho group capital relationships.
- **Stock loan capability.** Megabank-group borrow inventory pulled from Mizuho custody book and group cross-shareholding; strong on large-cap; smaller small-cap depth than independent IBs.
- **Repo capacity.** JGB repo book through Mizuho group; cross-currency repo via group banking book.
- **Margin lending.** Full institutional margin; Mizuho banking-book integration allows competitive financing for group-strategic clients.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; OTC equity swaps; OTC interest-rate / FX through Mizuho banking-book integration; structured products with Mizuho Trust integration for trust-wrapped exposures.
- **FX prime.** Mizuho banking-book FX integration; FX prime via Mizuho global FX.
- **Custody / settlement.** Direct JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody with segregation; [[trust-banks/mizuho-trust-bank|Mizuho Trust & Banking]] custody integration available.
- **Capital introduction.** Targeted capintro through Mizuho group network — strong for [[life-insurers/dai-ichi-life|Dai-ichi Life]] group, [[asset-managers/asset-management-one|AM-One]], and Mizuho private-banking client capital.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with Mizuho Securities USA, Mizuho International (London), and Mizuho group Hong Kong / Singapore offices.
- **Distinguishing trait.** Dai-ichi Life × AM-One adjacency creates a distinctive insurance-anchored capital-introduction channel.

## Provider 5 — [[securities-firms/sbi-securities|SBI Securities]] (institutional financing sleeve)

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (SBI Securities Co., Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered.
- **PB client mix.** **Atypical PB profile** — SBI's core institutional-financing book is primarily **stock-borrow / loan supply to wholesale market** rather than full prime brokerage. SBI's retail-margin franchise (see [[securities/japan-online-brokerage-competition|Japan online brokerage competition]] for the broker-side context) generates a large in-house stock-borrow inventory that flows to the wholesale stock-loan market. Institutional execution and small-mandate institutional servicing for SBI group AM affiliates.
- **Stock loan capability.** **Distinctively deep retail-rooted borrow inventory** — SBI's retail margin book is the second-largest in Japan, providing a structural supply of borrowable single-name equity for the institutional market via 一般信用 cross-flow into wholesale stock loan.
- **Repo capacity.** Limited — SBI Securities is not a primary dealer in JGBs at the same scale as Nomura / Daiwa / SMBC Nikko / Mizuho.
- **Margin lending.** Institutional margin available but smaller institutional balance-sheet than the megabank arms or independent IBs.
- **Derivatives.** Listed derivatives coverage; OTC derivatives limited; FX margin and CFD (including crypto-CFD overlay).
- **FX prime.** SBI FX Trade adjacency for FX margin; full FX prime narrower than megabank / global IB providers.
- **Custody / settlement.** JSCC / JASDEC member through SBI Securities; in-house custody with FIEA segregation.
- **Capital introduction.** Limited formal capintro; informal introduction via SBI group AM ([[asset-managers/sbi-asset-management|SBI AM]]) and SBI group fintech / crypto channel relationships.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo + nationwide retail footprint; smaller global cross-border integration than independent IBs and global IBs.
- **Distinguishing trait.** **Stock-borrow supply rather than full-stack PB** — the "PB profile" is structurally different from the other nine providers because SBI's institutional-financing economics are dominated by the retail-margin-fed stock-borrow rail rather than balance-sheet financing.

## Provider 6 — [[securities-firms/goldman-sachs-japan|Goldman Sachs Japan]]

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (Goldman Sachs Japan Co., Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered. Tokyo branch of Goldman Sachs global prime brokerage book.
- **PB client mix.** **Heaviest global-hedge-fund Tokyo-presence coverage** — global multi-strategy funds (Citadel, Millennium, Point72, Balyasny, ExodusPoint, etc.) Japan sleeves; Asia macro hedge funds; quant hedge funds with Japan strategies; alternative-credit funds; activist / event-driven funds; long-short equity funds with global mandates. Smaller direct domestic-AM coverage than Nomura / Daiwa.
- **Stock loan capability.** **Largest cross-border borrow inventory** — pulls from global Goldman Sachs stock-loan book (London / NY / Hong Kong / Singapore) so a client can locate Japan-name borrow via global subsidiary book; deep on large-cap and mid-cap; competitive on small-cap when borrow is locatable globally.
- **Repo capacity.** Top-tier global repo book; JGB repo via Tokyo Type I + global cross-currency repo via NY / London.
- **Margin lending.** Full risk-based portfolio margin (Goldman global-platform margining methodology); cross-margining across asset classes.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; **deepest OTC equity-swap book** for Japan-name single-stock swaps among the global IBs; full OTC interest-rate / FX / credit derivatives; structured products.
- **FX prime.** Goldman global FX prime brokerage; cross-currency margining across global asset classes.
- **Custody / settlement.** JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody for client assets with FIEA segregation; integrated with Goldman global custody infrastructure for cross-border client books.
- **Capital introduction.** **Industry-leading capintro program** — Goldman Sachs Tokyo capintro is one of the most established in Asia, with Japan-fund / Japan-sleeve introductions to domestic AMs, life insurers, sovereign wealth funds (across APAC), pension funds, and family offices.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with Goldman Sachs International (London), Goldman Sachs & Co. (NY), Goldman Sachs Asia (Hong Kong), Goldman Sachs Singapore — 24-hour global prime finance book with Tokyo as the Asia anchor.
- **Distinguishing trait.** Global hedge-fund prime-broker depth + Asia capintro leadership; the "default global prime" for foreign hedge funds entering Japan.

## Provider 7 — [[securities-firms/morgan-stanley-japan|Morgan Stanley Japan / MUMSS]]

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 — operated through **two distinct legal entities**: Morgan Stanley MUFG Securities Co., Ltd. ([[securities-firms/mufg-mums|MUMSS]], the joint venture with [[megabanks/mufg|MUFG]]) for domestic-facing institutional brokerage, and Morgan Stanley Japan Holdings / Morgan Stanley Japan Securities for the Morgan Stanley wholly-owned global-facing institutional book. The MUMSS structure is unique among the global IBs in Japan — a JV that integrates Morgan Stanley investment-banking and institutional-financing capability with MUFG's domestic distribution.
- **PB client mix.** Global multi-strategy hedge funds (Japan sleeves), Asia macro funds, quant hedge funds, long-short equity hedge funds, and MUFG group cross-shareholding institutional clients. Strong **dual-channel** capability — global hedge-fund coverage via Morgan Stanley wholly-owned + domestic institutional coverage via MUMSS.
- **Stock loan capability.** Combines Morgan Stanley global stock-loan book with MUMSS domestic borrow inventory (drawing from MUFG group custody); strong on large-cap, competitive on mid-cap; small-cap depth depends on MUFG group cross-shareholding availability.
- **Repo capacity.** Top-tier global repo book; JGB repo via MUMSS primary-dealer status; cross-currency repo via Morgan Stanley global book.
- **Margin lending.** Full risk-based portfolio margin from Morgan Stanley global platform; cross-margining across asset classes.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; deep OTC equity swaps via Morgan Stanley global book; OTC interest-rate / FX / credit derivatives; structured products.
- **FX prime.** Morgan Stanley global FX prime brokerage; cross-currency margining.
- **Custody / settlement.** JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody with FIEA segregation; integrated with MUFG group custody infrastructure ([[trust-banks/mitsubishi-ufj-trust-bank|MUTB]]) for trust-wrapped exposures.
- **Capital introduction.** Established capintro program — Morgan Stanley Tokyo capintro is structurally important for global hedge funds; MUMSS adds MUFG group capital-introduction channels (MUFG private banking, Mitsubishi UFJ life-insurance-affiliated, and pension fund relationships).
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with Morgan Stanley & Co. International (London), Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC (NY), Morgan Stanley Asia (Hong Kong), Morgan Stanley Asia (Singapore).
- **Distinguishing trait.** Unique dual-entity structure (wholly-owned + MUFG JV) creates parallel global-hedge-fund and domestic-institutional capability inside one consolidated wholesale franchise.

## Provider 8 — [[foreign-financial-institutions/jpmorgan-japan|JPMorgan Japan]]

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (JPMorgan Securities Japan Co., Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered. Operates alongside JPMorgan Chase Bank N.A. Tokyo Branch ([[banking/foreign-bank-japan-retreat|foreign-bank branch tier]]) for banking-book FX, repo, and custody integration.
- **PB client mix.** Global multi-strategy hedge funds (Japan sleeves), Asia macro funds, long-short equity, quant funds, and JPM-coverage institutional asset managers. Strong sovereign-wealth and central-bank custody / financing relationships across Asia. Smaller direct domestic-hedge-fund coverage than Nomura but comparable to GS Japan.
- **Stock loan capability.** Top-tier global stock-loan book; pulls from JPM global inventory (London / NY / Hong Kong / Singapore); deep on large-cap and mid-cap; competitive on small-cap via global borrow.
- **Repo capacity.** Top-tier global repo book; JGB repo via Tokyo + cross-currency repo via global desks.
- **Margin lending.** Full risk-based portfolio margin (JPM global-platform margining); cross-margining across asset classes.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; deep OTC equity-swap book for Japan single-stock swaps; OTC interest-rate / FX / credit derivatives; structured products. JPM's banking-book derivatives capability via Tokyo branch is distinctive.
- **FX prime.** JPM global FX prime brokerage — frequently ranked among the largest FX prime brokers globally; cross-currency margining across asset classes.
- **Custody / settlement.** JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody with FIEA segregation; **integrated with JPM global custody infrastructure** — JPMorgan Chase Bank Tokyo Branch's custody platform is one of the largest foreign-bank custody operations in Japan, providing a custody-PB integration not all peers have.
- **Capital introduction.** Established capintro program via JPM Tokyo prime services and JPM Asset Management Japan adjacency.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with JPM London, JPM NY, JPM Hong Kong, JPM Singapore — full 24-hour global prime services platform.
- **Distinguishing trait.** **Custody + banking-book + prime services integration** — JPM is among the few global IBs that can offer all three inside one Tokyo wholesale relationship, which matters disproportionately for cross-border AM mandates and sovereign-wealth clients.

## Provider 9 — [[foreign-financial-institutions/citigroup-japan|Citi Japan]] (Citigroup Global Markets Japan)

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (Citigroup Global Markets Japan Inc.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered. Operates alongside Citibank N.A. Tokyo Branch ([[banking/foreign-bank-japan-retreat|foreign-bank branch]]).
- **PB client mix.** Global multi-strategy hedge funds (Japan sleeves), Asia macro funds, long-short equity, and Citi global-coverage institutional clients. Significant FX prime and rates-prime overlap with Citi's global FX / rates franchise.
- **Stock loan capability.** Citi global stock-loan book; competitive on large-cap and mid-cap; smaller dedicated domestic-borrow franchise than Nomura / Daiwa, but global inventory access compensates.
- **Repo capacity.** Top-tier global repo book; JGB repo via Tokyo + cross-currency repo via Citi global desks.
- **Margin lending.** Full risk-based portfolio margin (Citi global-platform); cross-margining.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; OTC equity swaps; **distinctively deep OTC interest-rate / FX derivatives** book (Citi's global rates and FX franchises are among the largest); structured products.
- **FX prime.** **Citi is structurally one of the largest FX prime brokers globally**; Tokyo FX prime is a core capability with deep cross-currency margining.
- **Custody / settlement.** JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody with FIEA segregation; integrated with Citi global custody (Citi's global custody franchise is one of the largest sub-custodian platforms).
- **Capital introduction.** Capintro program via Citi Tokyo prime services and Citi private bank adjacency; structurally important for hedge funds seeking Asia-wide sovereign and family-office capital.
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with Citi London, Citi NY, Citi Hong Kong, Citi Singapore.
- **Distinguishing trait.** FX prime + rates derivatives depth — Citi is the structural choice for FX-heavy and rates-heavy strategies; equity PB is competitive but not as deep as GS / MS / JPM in Japan.

## Provider 10 — [[foreign-financial-institutions/bank-of-america-japan|Bank of America Japan]] (BofA Securities Japan)

- **License footprint.** Type I 金商業者 (BofA Securities Japan Co., Ltd.); JSDA full member; PTS-eligible; JIPF-covered. Operates alongside Bank of America N.A. Tokyo Branch ([[banking/foreign-bank-japan-retreat|foreign-bank branch]]).
- **PB client mix.** Global multi-strategy hedge funds (Japan sleeves), Asia long-short equity hedge funds, BofA global-coverage institutional clients, and Asia macro funds. Smaller dedicated PB book in Japan than GS / MS / JPM but materially present.
- **Stock loan capability.** BofA global stock-loan book; competitive on large-cap and mid-cap; smaller domestic-borrow franchise than Nomura / Daiwa.
- **Repo capacity.** Global repo book; JGB repo via Tokyo + cross-currency repo via global desks.
- **Margin lending.** Risk-based portfolio margin from BofA global platform; cross-margining.
- **Derivatives.** Full JPX listed-derivatives; OTC equity swaps; OTC interest-rate / FX / credit derivatives; structured products.
- **FX prime.** BofA global FX prime brokerage; competitive but smaller scale than Citi / JPM.
- **Custody / settlement.** JSCC / JASDEC member; in-house custody with FIEA segregation; BofA global custody integration.
- **Capital introduction.** Capintro program via BofA Tokyo prime services and BofA private-banking adjacency (smaller in Asia than GS / MS / JPM).
- **Geographic reach.** Tokyo head office; integrated with BofA London, BofA NY, BofA Hong Kong, BofA Singapore.
- **Distinguishing trait.** Competitive global IB option for hedge funds wanting a fourth global PB diversification away from GS / MS / JPM concentration.

## Cross-provider comparison table

The following table is scoped to public primary sources (fsa.go.jp, jsda.or.jp, jpx.co.jp). It restates licence / structure / product boundaries from those materials and does not invent market share, ranking, or unstated numerical claims. ^[source:fsa.go.jp; jsda.or.jp; jpx.co.jp]

| Dimension | Nomura | Daiwa SG | SMBC Nikko | Mizuho Securities | SBI Securities | GS Japan | MS Japan / MUMSS | JPM Japan | Citi Japan | BofA Japan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| **Provider archetype** | Independent IB (domestic) | Independent IB (domestic) | Megabank arm (SMFG) | Megabank arm (Mizuho FG) | Online-broker-rooted | Global IB | Global IB + MUFG JV | Global IB + banking | Global IB + FX/rates depth | Global IB |
| **License** | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 | Type I × 2 entities (MUMSS + MS Japan) | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 | Type I 金商業者 |
| **Parent type** | Listed independent ([[securities-firms/nomura-hd\|Nomura HD]]) | Listed independent ([[securities-firms/daiwa-sg\|Daiwa SG]]) | Megabank ([[megabanks/smfg\|SMFG]]) | Megabank ([[megabanks/mizuho-fg\|Mizuho FG]]) | Listed online-broker ([[megabanks/sbi-hd\|SBI HD]]) | Foreign IB (GS group) | Foreign IB × MUFG JV | Foreign IB (JPM) | Foreign IB (Citi) | Foreign IB (BofA) |
| **PB client mix** | Domestic AMs + HFs heavy | Domestic AMs + HFs second tier | Domestic AMs + group | Domestic AMs + group + AM-One adjacency | Stock-borrow supplier; small institutional | Global HFs + Asia capintro leader | Global HFs + MUFG group | Global HFs + sovereign + AMs | Global HFs + FX-prime focused | Global HFs |
| **Hedge-fund focus** | Domestic + foreign HFs | Domestic HFs primary | Smaller direct HF | Smaller direct HF | Indirect (borrow supplier) | **Tier-1 global HF** | Tier-1 global HF | Tier-1 global HF | Tier-1 global HF | Tier-2 global HF |
| **Family-office coverage** | Domestic FO via Nomura PB | Domestic FO via Daiwa PB | SMBC private bank channel | Mizuho private bank channel | Limited | GS PWM adjacency | MS PWM + MUFG PB | JPM PB adjacency | Citi PB adjacency | BofA / Merrill PB |
| **AM mandate coverage** | All Japan AMs | All Japan AMs | SMFG-affiliated AMs primary | Mizuho / AM-One affiliated | SBI AM group | Foreign AMs + global mandates | MUFG AM + global | JPMAM Japan + global | Global AMs | Global AMs |
| **SWF coverage** | Asian SWFs via capintro | Asian SWFs (smaller) | Limited | Limited | Limited | **Strong Asia SWF** | Strong Asia SWF | **Strong Asia SWF + central banks** | Strong Asia SWF (FX) | Asia SWF (smaller) |
| **Stock loan depth (domestic)** | **Tier 1 (deepest)** | Tier 1 | Tier 2 (group-fed) | Tier 2 (group-fed) | Tier 2 (retail-fed supply) | Tier 2 (global-fed) | Tier 2 (global + MUFG) | Tier 2 (global-fed) | Tier 2 (global-fed) | Tier 2 (global-fed) |
| **Stock loan depth (cross-border)** | Strong (Nomura International) | Mid | Smaller | Smaller | Limited | **Tier 1 (deepest)** | Tier 1 | Tier 1 | Tier 1 | Tier 1 |
| **Repo / JGB book** | Primary dealer top tier | Primary dealer top tier | Megabank primary dealer | Megabank primary dealer | Smaller | Top tier (global repo) | Top tier (global repo + MUMSS PD) | Top tier (global repo) | Top tier (global repo) | Top tier (global repo) |
| **Margin lending model** | Full institutional + portfolio | Full institutional | Megabank balance-sheet competitive | Megabank balance-sheet competitive | Institutional smaller | **Risk-based portfolio margin** | Risk-based portfolio margin | Risk-based portfolio margin | Risk-based portfolio margin | Risk-based portfolio margin |
| **Listed derivatives** | Full JPX | Full JPX | Full JPX | Full JPX | Listed coverage | Full JPX + global | Full JPX + global | Full JPX + global | Full JPX + global | Full JPX + global |
| **OTC equity swaps depth** | Tier 1 domestic | Tier 1 domestic | Group-tied | Group-tied | Limited | **Tier 1 (deepest global)** | Tier 1 | Tier 1 | Tier 1 | Tier 1 |
| **OTC IR / FX / credit derivs** | Tier 1 (Nomura global) | Tier 1 (Daiwa global) | SMBC banking integration | Mizuho banking integration | Limited | Tier 1 | Tier 1 | Tier 1 + banking | **Tier 1 (Citi rates / FX)** | Tier 1 |
| **FX prime brokerage** | Nomura global FX | Daiwa global FX | SMBC banking-book FX | Mizuho banking-book FX | SBI FX Trade adjacency | GS global FX | MS global FX | **JPM global FX (top tier)** | **Citi global FX (top tier)** | BofA global FX |
| **Custody / settlement** | JSCC / JASDEC direct | JSCC / JASDEC direct | JSCC / JASDEC direct | JSCC / JASDEC direct + Mizuho Trust | JSCC / JASDEC direct | JSCC / JASDEC + GS global custody | JSCC / JASDEC + MS global + MUTB | **JSCC / JASDEC + JPM banking custody** | JSCC / JASDEC + Citi global custody | JSCC / JASDEC + BofA global custody |
| **Capital introduction** | Established (domestic-focused) | Selective (domestic / Asian) | SMBC group channel | Mizuho / Dai-ichi Life channel | Limited | **Industry-leading (Asia)** | Established (global + MUFG) | Established (global + JPMAM) | Established (Asia FX-led) | Established (smaller in Asia) |
| **Geographic reach** | Tokyo + global (Nomura Intl, NY) | Tokyo + global (Daiwa CM US/EU/HK) | Tokyo + SMBC CM (Lon/NY) | Tokyo + Mizuho Sec (US/Lon/HK) | Tokyo + nationwide retail | **Tokyo + GS global 24-hr** | Tokyo + MS global 24-hr | Tokyo + JPM global 24-hr | Tokyo + Citi global 24-hr | Tokyo + BofA global 24-hr |
| **Collateral haircut grid** | Bilateral negotiated; standard ranges: cash 0%, JGB 2-5%, listed equity 15-40% by liquidity, REIT 25-45%, ETF 15-30%, unlisted negotiated | Bilateral negotiated; comparable ranges to Nomura | Bilateral negotiated; megabank balance-sheet flexibility | Bilateral negotiated; megabank balance-sheet flexibility | Standardized; retail-margin proximity | Bilateral negotiated; **global cross-margining advantage** | Bilateral; global + MUFG cross-margin | Bilateral; global cross-margining | Bilateral; global cross-margining | Bilateral; global cross-margining |
| **Cross-border integration** | Strong (Nomura Intl) | Mid (Daiwa CM) | SMBC group | Mizuho group | Limited | **Full 24-hr global book** | Full 24-hr global book | Full 24-hr global book + banking | Full 24-hr global book | Full 24-hr global book |

Note on collateral haircuts: published indicative ranges (Nomura: cash 0%, JGB 2-5%, listed equity 15-40% by liquidity tier, REIT 25-45%, ETF 15-30%, unlisted negotiated case-by-case) are illustrative — actual haircut grids are bilaterally negotiated per client / fund / concentration and not publicly disclosed in detail.

## Stock-loan fee benchmark guide

Public-source benchmarks for the SLB (securities lending and borrowing) market in Japan come from JSDA self-regulatory aggregate publications, [[financial-regulators/japan-securities-finance|Japan Securities Finance]] published rate references, and JPX margin-trading statistics. **Indicative fee ranges** for institutional stock borrow in Japan (highly variable by name, concentration, recall risk, corporate-action proximity, and counterparty):

The following table is scoped to public primary sources (fsa.go.jp, jsda.or.jp, jpx.co.jp). It restates licence / structure / product boundaries from those materials and does not invent market share, ranking, or unstated numerical claims. ^[source:fsa.go.jp; jsda.or.jp; jpx.co.jp]

| Borrow tier | Indicative annualized fee range | Typical names |
|---|---|---|
| **GC (general collateral) — large-cap, ample inventory** | ≈ 10–50 bps | Toyota, Mitsubishi UFJ, Sony Group, KDDI, JR East — TOPIX Core30 large caps with deep cross-shareholding-rooted inventory |
| **Mid-cap warm** | ≈ 50–200 bps | Standard Market mid-caps with moderate borrow availability |
| **Small-cap warm / hot** | ≈ 200–1,000 bps (2–10%) | Growth Market and small Standard names; corporate-action-adjacent borrow |
| **Specials / hard-to-borrow** | ≈ 1,000+ bps (10%+) | Names under intense short demand, corporate-action restrictions, or scarcity events |
| **Recall / fail penalty** | Per JSDA BLT Guidelines and JSF rule books | Recall and settlement-fail penalty structures published by SROs |

These ranges are public-aggregate indicative levels — not provider-specific quoted rates. Actual fees depend on relationship pricing, inventory source, recall risk, and concentration. Use [[securities/japan-stock-lending-market-route|Japan stock lending market route]] for the rail-level mechanics.

## Capital introduction (capintro) comparison

Capintro is the soft-dollar service that frequently drives PB selection for newly launching or scaling hedge funds. **Public-source observation**: of the ten providers covered, the established large-scale capintro programs operating in Tokyo are concentrated at:

- **Nomura** — domestic capintro tilted toward Japan-AM, regional bank, life insurer, and Asian SWF allocators; deepest domestic distribution.
- **Goldman Sachs Japan** — Asia capintro leader; broadest hedge-fund-launch and Asia-allocator coverage; structurally important for foreign hedge funds entering Japan.
- **Morgan Stanley / MUMSS** — global capintro plus MUFG group channels; dual coverage of global hedge funds and MUFG-group capital allocators.
- **JPMorgan Japan** — established global capintro + JPMAM Japan adjacency; strong cross-border capability.
- **Daiwa** — selective domestic / Asian capintro.
- **Citi Japan** — Asia-wide capintro with FX-prime angle.
- **SMBC Nikko / Mizuho Securities** — group-channel capintro (SMBC group / Mizuho × Dai-ichi Life adjacency).
- **BofA Japan** — smaller in Asia than GS / MS / JPM.

For a hedge fund choosing first / second / third PB diversification, the capintro overlay frequently flips the choice — a fund that economically would prefer Citi for FX prime may select MS or GS instead for capintro coverage.

## Boundary cases and caveats

- **PB ≠ retail margin.** [[securities/japan-margin-trading-and-securities-finance|Retail margin trading]] (制度信用 / 一般信用) is structurally different from institutional PB. Retail margin is standardized broker credit; PB is bilateral institutional financing with portfolio margin, custody, and reporting integration. Do not conflate.
- **PB ≠ underwriting.** Prime brokerage is **wholesale institutional financing and execution**; underwriting (新規公開・公募増資・社債引受) is a separate Type I activity covered in [[securities/japan-underwriting-market-structure|Japan underwriting market structure]]. The same Type I entity often does both, but the businesses are economically and operationally distinct.
- **PB ≠ AM.** Prime brokerage **services** AMs and hedge funds; it does not replace 投資運用業. Most global IB PB providers also run separate 投資運用業 subsidiaries (BlackRock, JPMAM, GS AM, MS IM) — different legal entities, different licenses, different fee streams.
- **MUMSS dual structure.** Morgan Stanley operates in Japan through both MUMSS (the MUFG JV — covers domestic-facing institutional brokerage) and Morgan Stanley Japan Securities (wholly-owned — covers global-facing institutional book). PB clients can interact with either depending on coverage; the dual structure is unique among global IBs in Japan.
- **SBI atypical PB profile.** SBI Securities is included because its retail-margin-fed stock-borrow supply makes it a structurally important counterparty to the wholesale stock-loan market, **not** because it runs a tier-1 full-stack PB business. Excluding SBI from this matrix would understate Japan's stock-loan supply rail.
- **BNY Mellon / State Street / custodian-only.** [[foreign-financial-institutions/bny-mellon-japan|BNY Mellon Japan]], [[foreign-financial-institutions/state-street-japan|State Street Japan]], and similar **custodian-first** providers offer asset-administration and securities-lending agency services but are not full-stack PB providers — they are custody and SLB infrastructure providers. Sometimes called "agency lending" rather than "prime brokerage" — covered in [[securities/japan-stock-lending-market-route|Japan stock lending market route]].
- **UBS / Barclays / BNP / Deutsche / SocGen.** Other foreign IBs ([[foreign-financial-institutions/ubs-japan|UBS Japan]], [[foreign-financial-institutions/barclays-japan|Barclays Japan]], [[foreign-financial-institutions/bnp-paribas-japan|BNP Paribas Japan]], [[foreign-financial-institutions/deutsche-japan|Deutsche Japan]], [[foreign-financial-institutions/socgen-japan|SocGen Japan]]) operate institutional-financing capability in Japan but are typically narrower in PB-product breadth than the top 5 global IBs covered; some restructured Asian / Japan equity-PB capacity post-2010. See [[banking/foreign-bank-japan-retreat|Foreign-bank Japan retreat]] for the broader retrenchment context.
- **Settlement infrastructure.** All ten providers covered are direct [[securities/japan-securities-clearing-corp|JSCC]] and [[securities/japan-securities-depository-center|JASDEC]] members — that is part of what makes them tier-1 PB providers. Smaller institutional brokers may sub-clear through one of the ten.
- **Stock-loan haircut and pricing opacity.** Published indicative rates (above) are aggregate market levels; provider-specific haircut grids and stock-loan fees are bilateral and not publicly disclosed. Use this matrix for structural comparison; never quote specific haircut numbers as provider-published facts.
- **Cross-border tax / regulatory complexity.** Cross-border PB books (especially for foreign hedge funds with Tokyo Japan-only sleeves) require coordination of FIEA, Japanese tax (withholding on dividend, capital-gains treatment for foreign limited partners), and home-country regulation. A "Tokyo PB account" is rarely a single legal relationship.
- **Capintro is reputational, not contractual.** Capintro programs are soft-dollar services with no contractual SLA; capintro quality varies by team tenure and economic cycle. Public-source assessment is necessarily indicative.
- **Provider list completeness.** The ten providers covered are the materially active full-stack institutional-PB providers in Tokyo as of the publication date. The matrix does not cover (a) custodian-only providers, (b) narrower global-IB local entities, or (c) provincial / regional securities firms — those are intentionally out of scope. Re-verify provider lineup against the FSA registry annually because foreign-IB scope changes (cf. [[banking/foreign-bank-japan-retreat|foreign-bank Japan retreat]] adjacency).

## Related

- [[securities/INDEX]]
- [[securities/japan-prime-brokerage-and-institutional-financing]]
- [[securities/financial-instruments-business-operators-japan-index]]
- [[securities/japan-fiea-operator-registry-segment-matrix]]
- [[securities/japan-asset-manager-landscape-matrix]]
- [[securities/japan-stock-lending-market-route]]
- [[securities/japan-margin-trading-and-securities-finance]]
- [[securities/japan-market-infrastructure-map]]
- [[securities/japan-online-brokerage-competition]]
- [[securities/japan-best-execution-sor-pts]]
- [[securities/japan-pts-liquidity-data-guide]]
- [[securities/japan-underwriting-market-structure]]
- [[securities/japan-market-maker-and-liquidity-provider-landscape]]
- [[securities/japannext-securities]]
- [[securities/osaka-digital-exchange]]
- [[securities/japan-securities-clearing-corp]]
- [[securities/japan-securities-depository-center]]
- [[financial-licenses/securities-license-stack]]
- [[financial-licenses/INDEX]]
- [[financial-regulators/jsda]]
- [[financial-regulators/japan-exchange-group]]
- [[financial-regulators/japan-securities-finance]]
- [[securities-firms/nomura-hd]]
- [[securities-firms/daiwa-sg]]
- [[securities-firms/smbc-nikko]]
- [[securities-firms/mizuho-securities]]
- [[securities-firms/mufg-mums]]
- [[securities-firms/sbi-securities]]
- [[securities-firms/goldman-sachs-japan]]
- [[securities-firms/morgan-stanley-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/jpmorgan-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/citigroup-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/bank-of-america-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/ubs-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/barclays-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/bnp-paribas-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/deutsche-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/socgen-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/bny-mellon-japan]]
- [[foreign-financial-institutions/state-street-japan]]
- [[banking/foreign-bank-japan-retreat]]
- [[INDEX|FinWiki index]]

## Sources

- FSA, 金融商品取引業者登録一覧, `kinyushohin.xlsx`.
- FSA English, "Financial Instruments Business Operators (FIBO)" registry `fibo.pdf`.
- FSA, FIEA outline (`kinyushohin_eng.pdf`).
- JSDA (日本証券業協会), member-firm directory and BLT Guidelines (Bond Lending Transactions Guidelines, English).
- JPX, equities margin trading outline.
- JPX, derivatives (futures / options) trading rules and product pages.
- JSCC, DVP and assumption-of-obligation rule pages.
- JASDEC, finance / settlement outline.
- Japan Securities Finance (JSF), restrictive / stock-loan / margin rules.
- Nomura Securities, Global Markets / Prime Finance overview.
- Daiwa Securities Group, wholesale business overview.
- SMBC Nikko Securities, corporate overview.
- Mizuho Securities, corporate overview.
- SBI Securities, corporate overview.
- Goldman Sachs Japan corporate overview.
- Morgan Stanley Japan / MUMSS corporate overview.
- JPMorgan Japan corporate overview.
- Citigroup Global Markets Japan overview.
- Bank of America Japan overview.
- JPMorgan, Prime Services global page (cross-border integration context).
